• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

shopping list for beginners tarantulas at my fisrt T show?

Tabitha

3 Year Member
Hi all, so I am a beginner, or should I say arachnophobe turned keeper, list of what I have already is below.
All my Ts are giving me so much pleasure, I really enjoy them so much, from total fear of spiders I now keep this list in my bedroom. I am just finishing their enclosures and will post an update finally and show you all their new houses.

So in a few weeks there is the first T show held in my area and the first time I will of visited such a venue and seen Ts for sale, I’m very excited,
I would like to treat myself to say another 2 or 3 ... or 4, 5,6,7, nooooo! I don’t want to get there and go too crazy and buy something that might be unsuitable because I don’t know their requirements or traits, so I’d like to go armed with a crib sheet, so any suggestions for tarantulas, I’m not after particularly huge species, price or availability not an issue, I don’t care if they are rare or common, cheap or expensive, preferably terrestrial or new world, pretty, nothing too fast, aggressive or skittish, having said that I won’t be handling them etc but I do enjoy seeing them out and about.

So...one the list already is
No 1 definitely euathlus red!
I like albiceps too.
So any thoughts what else I should keep a look out for?

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Any Lasiodora species, parahybana, difficilis, klugi, fracta, striatipes.... They're all good. Be sure to provide a big hide. Even though these will be visible 90% of the time once the adult colors set in, they need a hide to prevent them from becoming defensive or panicking.

A geniculata or fellow travelers in that genus are awesome.