• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Uh oh, looks like mold!

Huntzman90

3 Year Member
Ok im a bit of a noob at this. So i need some advice from the experts.

I just rehoused my B. Albopilosum for the first time since getting it (unsexed) as a tiny sling. The reptile store owner suggested using a fairly large container with a fairly large hide. He said the T would grow into it.

Also I just noticed some white furry stuff growing from the bark hide. I didnt notice it at first and initially thought it to be webbing but upon further inspection suspect it to be some type of mold. Also found some darker looking mold near the edge of the bark. I removed the hide immediately. My t seems fine.

So a few questions for ya's!

Is this harmful mold and should i be conserned about my tarantula?
What causes this mold and whats the best way to prevent it?
Is my enclosure too big?
Is my hide to large?

Any information you guys can give me would be very much appreciated.

I attached some photos of the mold (hard to catch on my crappy phone) my enclosure/hide and my T for size comparison. Fyi that spot on its abdomen is just some substrate it fell off when it moved lol.

20190613_150901.jpg
20190613_151116.jpg
20190613_145250.jpg
20190613_145029.jpg

Rs50matt

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
First bit of advice is don’t listen to pet shops :)
They’re right in saying it’ll grow into it but with any species that would take a long long time. With a brachypelma albopilosum? Your looking at about 8 years or so until it’ll grow into it ;)
It’s on the large side tbh. I would scale it down quite a lot. Ts like small dark spaces and without anywhere to feel safe it could start to stress your T out .