• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie questions

Ibnhamar

Hey all!

So I'm new to the hobby and I've done a good bit of lurking and research, but I can't help but be bothered by the same questions. Could anyone tell me if my G. Pulchra sling looks to be in pre-molt? The booty do be lookin plump to me, but I'm not sure if that's my untrained eye and Pulchras normally have this body-to-abdomen ratio as slings. If it's hard to tell from these pictures, I'll try to snap others when I can/it's in a good position. Trying not to disturb it as much as possible, as I just got it about a week ago.

Additionally, I set up it's enclosure to suggestions I compiled across different husbandry guides, but it doesn't seem to be burrowing much or utilizing a few of the little burrows I made, or little hides/concealment. It's mostly chilling out in the open, or on the wall of the enclosure, which makes me nervous about the moisture level at the top of the substrate, but I packed down and wetted layers of substrate progressively (or, inversely so with wettest at bottom). I've read all T's are different of course, so I'm sure all of this may be normal, I just can't help but be an overly paranoid new parent. I want to take great care of it.

Please feel free to scold me if I'm going about any of it in the wrong way or if anything looks off.

Regards and thanks for any help/advice
IMG_7594.jpg
IMG_7593.jpg

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome to the group. Your sling doesn't appear to be in premolt yet but at this age they can snap into it rather fast. I wouldnt feed it anymore . You don't want the abdomen to get much larger then the carapace. Just keep the water dish full and enjoy the show. Here's some eye candy for you....
20220120_173909.jpg