• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie here and to tarantulas

GoodnNuff

Hi everyone, new Tarantula owner thanks to my other half...lol
We've been discussing purchasing a Tarantula, researching good beginner species, sling vs juvenile, etc.
I joined our local T FB group and had been in contact with some local breeders.

Yesterday my wife was out running errands and stopped by one of the box pet stores to pick up crickets and horn worms for the reptiles and she came home with a juvenile tarantula. It was an impulse buy....we try to avoid buying animals from box stores. We have a houseful of animals of various species and that are either rescues, adoptees or purchased from breeders. I think she feels sufficiently guilty over her decision to support this store's pet trade this morning.

She felt it was a bargain she couldn't walk away from. It was labeled as a Brachypelma hamorii and at a price considerable lower than what we've seen listed online from breeders for the same size. So she bought it.
This morning she molted. Do we feed her or wait 24-48 hours?

And should I post a photo of her here for ID, or go to the species specific forum?

Thanks!

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hi everyone, new Tarantula owner thanks to my other half...lol
We've been discussing purchasing a Tarantula, researching good beginner species, sling vs juvenile, etc.
I joined our local T FB group and had been in contact with some local breeders.