• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New hobbyist. Learning what i can!

Goldiesgiants

So I got my first T today. I tried asking a question on arachnoboards but was only met with "google it" and "yes" and a few people told me that this forum is much better. Although one person did actually give me an answer to the question.

So they told me that my substrate was a little bit too damp I own an A. Geniculata and I did squeeze the water out before putting the substrate into the enclosure. Can damp substrate be a problem for my T?
I have done alot of research on my T and I know all of the basic husbandry needs for it. But as I'm very new to the hobby I'm still a little bit nervous that I'm doing things wrong.
Anyway thank you very much guys.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
So they told me that my substrate was a little bit too damp I own an A. Geniculata and I did squeeze the water out before putting the substrate into the enclosure. Can damp substrate be a problem for my T?

First welcome to the forum & the hobby.

Second. Yes, in the long term substrate that is too damp, can be detrimental to your T. But if you think about it, the surface under the feet of any T in the wild is going to vary. As even the driest places on earth, has some rain fall, which then leaves dampness for some time.

Acanthoscurria geniculata, comes from Brazil & Brazil's climate varies from persistent rainfall in some areas to regular droughts in others. So I would not imagine damp substrate is a massive issue to your T.