• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Is this T ok?

madvent75

Hi everyone, I’m actually at the pet store, was looking at habitat items and found this guy. I’m getting my first T this Friday. I noticed this T for sale and it looks like he flicked all the hairs off his abdomen, there are 4 crickets in his enclosure, is this T ok? I was wondering do I buy him and try to help it/save it or is this ok? I have zero experience at this moment with T’s but I’m thinking this environment is too big and this little guy is stressed, I think.

Attachments

• 2EC14226-36C5-4146-BBB6-A1A05A66A2C9.jpeg
    2EC14226-36C5-4146-BBB6-A1A05A66A2C9.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 17
  • A40E44CC-007F-482D-9441-C52A53AC4317.jpeg
    A40E44CC-007F-482D-9441-C52A53AC4317.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 18

Konstantin

3 Year Member
Hi
it is not housed correctly and is not cared for correctly so probably not ok as hardy as these are.It looks like Brachypelma emilia but not 100% as pic is not very good. They are great beginners choice.
The thing is you will save this one and they will get a new onein to replace it and to mistreat.Often they sell wild caught tarantulas in these pet stores and there is no need for plucking tarantulas from the wild if they are such a widely available as captive bred specimens as iscthe case with this species.Best thing in long run is not to buy from places like that as harsh it may sound end eventually they may stop selling them if noone buys them and they make no profit.
Just my 2 cents.
Do whatever you think is right for you by any means.
Regards Konstantin

Tarantulafeets