• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

I'm a newbie, with some questions.

I would like some help with my spider

• Any help please

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Any help please

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters

MrsP

I'm new to this forum, I've got some questions about my new tarantula but I've had many negative responses to questions in other places. I've had spiders in the past but as my son said we just looked after them back then as we hadn't got a clue and they thrived without us really doing much. It was many years ago but now I'm getting stressed about Steve.

I got his setup sorted, the temperature and humidity are fine, but when he arrived around four weeks ago, he just strolled into the hide, and I've not seen him since. I've put crickets in, he's been out of his hide as there is a hole where he hid, but I still haven't seen him. He's been here for almost four weeks.

I don't think I need to be worrying yet, but I would appreciate any helpful advice. As I said I've had negative comments on other places, I don't need any more. All I'm asking for is sensible advice.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
How big is Steve? Could you post photos of his container so we can tell if there are any problems with it.
Slings usually settle quite quickly but as they get bigger they take longer to settle in a new home.

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome!

No stress, no worries - there are few Tarantula emergencies.

Has Steve been eating? Does Steve have access to clean water at all times?

Please post pics of the enclosure, from overhead and the side, please.

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member