• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hi guys my name is vincenzo I'm new to keeping tarantulas i have a female Mexican red rump .

costie

I brought a female Mexican red rump 8 the person i brought her off was not helpful days ago i saw her for the first two days then she web both entrance with coco fibre and i ain't seen her for 6 days now i did do research and watches YouTube video's and googled and got two answers back one she is pre moulting two she hibernating.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello Vincenzo welcome to the hobby & the forum.

You are correct saying that your vegans is possibly pre molt. But where ever you read hibernating. They got it wrong. Tarantulas do not hibernate. They do however often have a solitary behaviour & that is where the term "pet hole," is from. Often T's just disappear, maybe down a hole, or under their cover & that is where they stay. Thus, you can end up with a hole, rather than a T, as a pet.

Every T is different. I have several Brachypelmas, most are out on show all the time. But a few, I hardly ever see.

costie

Hello Vincenzo welcome to the hobby & the forum.

You are correct saying that your vegans is possibly pre molt. But where ever you read hibernating. They got it wrong. Tarantulas do not hibernate. They do however often have a solitary behaviour & that is where the term "pet hole," is from. Often T's just disappear, maybe down a hole, or under their cover & that is where they stay. Thus, you can end up with a hole, rather than a T, as a pet.

Every T is different. I have several Brachypelmas, most are out on show all the time. But a few, I hardly ever see.