• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello to all from a newbie.

tekanhunter

3 Year Member
I am new to the hobby, the boys and I have caught a Texas Brown by our home. It is a male, as were the others. We are wanting to learn all we can, and hopefully find a good docile female T that will live a long and enjoy full life with us.
Main question is... we are moving to the Denver area early next year, will the elevation/ dry air affect our future pet/'s?

khatchet

3 Year Member
Keep the tank or room humid. I do this with a humiderfer. And the elevation should not cause a prob. I would suggest geting a captive breed tarantula tho. If you do it that way you can also give a bit more money and get one you know is female.

tekanhunter

3 Year Member
Thanks khatchet... any suggestions on a T that can be handled relatively easily, without worries of getting bit? Seeing some that look great, but say they are aggressive. Not many say they are docile.

Okay, in reading ALOT of post's, am seeing Rosie's are a good candidate... any others that are in the same category?

Last edited:

khatchet

3 Year Member
Pink toe are docile but can be a bit jumpy. I will not hold a tarantula unless they act as i am a tree and dont seem to mind. I am that same way with them all. Also red knee i have never had but I have never seen a mean one. Tarantula do have bad day and good day tho. If it doesnt seem to want to be handeled that day then it is best left alone. Also befor handeling let it get a few meals in and make its self at home. Some people will tyell you rose hair are nice and calm as some are but for the most part of what i have seen they are meaner then the 2 i listed up top.

DalilahBlue

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Welcome!