• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Greetings!

Crecious

3 Year Member
Hello there!

I am a resident of Costa Rica, so I have lots of native spiders, and often have tarantulas in my home. I actually found three C. Fasciatum in one day.

I am 100% new to this hobby. I used to think it was strange people had spiders as pets. I had nothing against it, just couldn't really see the appeal. But, my friend kept talking about them, getting me thinking. Then the other day, a tiny little C. Fasciatum was found under a sofa, with a horribly small abdomen. So I gently scooped the little bugger up, and made and enclosure. I know most of the people in the frown upon wild caught, but in this case the people who were cleaning were going to kill it, and when they moved it outside my cat was ready to get it. To save it, I decided to become a tarantula owner. At least until the little guy is healthier.

Right now his abdoman is so small in comparison to the rest of it's body. :( (Fair warning I am not versed in the technical terms and words for spider anatomy, so please forgive me.)
I gave it a grasshopper, caught on my organic farm, and so far no dice. :( I'm worried it might not make it, since it's so underfed.

Any words of advice?

This is an adult from the other day!

I look forward to furthering my knowledge in this hobby, and perhaps learning to love a creature I used to remove from houses (gently of course) to save them from arachnophobes.

Attachments

• 4cbf894b-a6f4-4969-a6f2-86468fe42270.jpg
    4cbf894b-a6f4-4969-a6f2-86468fe42270.jpg
    45.7 KB · Views: 10

Kymura

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hello and welcome to the forum,
I'm sure someone with vastly more knowledge then I will be able to give you good advice.
meanwhile, what have you got it in for an enclosure?