• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

facts about tarantula

Marcy

3 Year Member
Hi, I am a newbie. I've been with my tarantula for like a week now I guess, but I gotta admit I got confused when the seller told me it might get stressed and there's a possibility that it might commit suicide cus I have been exploring blogs on Google but I haven't seen any topics about it yet. Based on your experience as a professional handler or keeper do you guys think it's true or bull****? Lol thank you all. Your response will be highly appreciated.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi, welcome to the hobby.

I think the seller was exaggerating somewhat. Yes, a move can stress a T but usually a few days will see it settle down and be fine. I'll be honest I'm still trying to imagine how a T could commit suicide :)

Phil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hi, I am a newbie. I've been with my tarantula for like a week now I guess, but I gotta admit I got confused when the seller told me it might get stressed and there's a possibility that it might commit suicide cus I have been exploring blogs on Google but I haven't seen any topics about it yet. Based on your experience as a professional handler or keeper do you guys think it's true or bull****? Lol thank you all. Your response will be highly appreciated.
Hello and welcome to the forum. I agree with Enn, the move could be stressful but if you have all the right conditions (clean substrate, open water dish. A shelter to feel conformable with, the right temp/humidity and cross ventilation in the enclose) your T will settle after a day or so.
@Enn49 the only suicide scenario I can think of is that they spin a noose from their silk and hang themselves......which is of course, highly unlikely ☺

Phil