• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

dealing with the OBT

new2tarantulas

3 Year Member
OK I'm new to old world ts and I want some tips on transferring my obt that I'm getting and doing cage maintenance. Any advice would b great

Martin Oosthuysen

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hello I would say do it in an empty bath, use a paint brush to coax it to move. The soft bristles shouldn't harm her, and if she strikes no damage to her fangs. Just remember, they can display bursts of speed. Just don't get startled, and don't handle her if possible.

Tongue Flicker

3 Year Member
I usually just get a plastic cup and an old greeting card. Just cup the obt in, scoop the cup from below with the card along with the obt and done. Quick, easy, no sweat. I dunno, maybe my obt's just not that vicious?!

Charmyknux

3 Year Member
Are we talking about an adult, juvenile, or sling? I use a very different method when moving an adult vs a baby Orange Bitey Thing (obt) :)
uploadfromtaptalk1390671088939.jpg

Ceratogyrus

3 Year Member
Rehoused my 15cm murinus today. Just put the old enclosure next to the new one and chase it out with a set of long forceps. She did make a run for it while I was trying to photograph her though... :)

Charmyknux

3 Year Member
Rehoused my 15cm murinus today. Just put the old enclosure next to the new one and chase it out with a set of long forceps. She did make a run for it while I was trying to photograph her though... :)
Always a good method if you can pull it off :)

Ceratogyrus

3 Year Member