• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

advice needed for a tiny brachypelma emilia sling. i'm a beginner.

kapotas

Hello people! i'm a beginner in spider keeping and i just got my first one. A Mexican redleg. I used to look at small slings people were uploading here and there , but i think mine's a bit smaller. I uploaded 2 pics and i want your opinion. Is it considered to be very small? my only concern is how i am going to feed it. even the smallest food ( small dubia roaches, that's what the pet shop owner gave me) , seems larger than the spider. i chopped one in half and put it it. after many hours and when the roach was dead, i saw my sling on top of the roach, so, my guess is that it was feeding. Then again, it is really small to tell. i removed the roach the next day , i couldn't tell if a leg or something else was missing. how do you provide care to a so small and fragile sling? :p any tips about watering and feeding it will be welcomed!

Attachments

• IMG_20181125_122206.jpg
    IMG_20181125_122206.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 112
  • IMG_20181125_122312.jpg
    IMG_20181125_122312.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 108

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello and welcome to the hobby :).
I feed my tiny slings on very small crickets, prekilling them if necessary. As for water, if you can't find a small enough bowl then just spray the side of the container every 2-3 days. Small water bowls could be a small Lego brick or some have used the bubble that tablet come in.

kapotas

Thank you very much for the information. i'll try to find a tiny bowl as well . i have some small dubia roaches for now and i will prekill them as well.how often do you feed a tiny sling like the mexican redleg? 2 times a week is considered okay?

Enn49

Staff member