• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

advice for my curly hair sling

Corey Boisse

3 Year Member
Im an amateur tarantula owner. Im new to this forum and join to clear up some things to be as prepared as possible. I have a very small Honduran Curly Hair Tarantula and there are some questions id like properly answered and not speculated or given an educated guess. My spiderling is 3/8 - 4/8 of an inch not including its leg span and he ate wax worms at first consistently, as i adjusted his diet trying to figure out the best food. I tried phoenix worms next but he didnt touch them and there was online speculation as to whether or not the calcium enriched food was bad for the spider, and he hasnt eaten. hes completely enclosed himself under the subtrate in a burrow he made that is really confined and i havent seen him come out since. Im not sure if this is an indication if he is ready to molt or not and would like to know so i dont waste time and money on trying to feed him. Also, on the surface of his subtrate there is spots of white fuzz that doesnt appear to look like typical mold so im not sure if its mold or his webbing. Id be more inclined to say it was his webbing but as i said he doesnt appear to ever come out of his burrow and looks to be in the same position as the day before. As much relevant info on this particular species is much appreciated.

Christell Erasmus

3 Year Member