• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Super weak tarantula refusing food

bluebird-azurite

My nephew bought a tarantula without his mother's permission and long story short, he got caught and my sister gave the spider to me because she can't stand them. I have some experience with exotics, but I've never cared for a tarantula before, however I do have the disposable income to set up a good enclosure for her. The problem is I don't believe my nephew was feeding them as often as he said he was. It looks small and malnourished, moves very sluggishly and just sits around curled in on itself. I've made several attempts to feed them, but they won't eat, I think it might not have the energy to. I've offered it mealworms, roaches, and crickets but it just won't try, it just slowly crawls away. I know you can't really force feed spiders, but I think if I don't get it to eat soon it could die. What can I do?

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Can you post a photo of the tarantula and it's container, it will help folk give you advice.
One suggestion I would make is to dribble a small amount of water on the substrate directly in front of it as water is more important than food right now.
Also it may be stressed from being moved.

Heretic

It is very common for stressed Tarantulas to refuse food. There is another thread I just saw where the owner says the T is just sitting in a corner with its legs covering its body. This is a shielding tactic stressed Ts use to protect themselves.

Water is very important as said.

The T could be in pre-molt and may not eat for a long time and no one is going to be able to tell you how long that will be. I've heard stories of Ts refusing to eat for a year. Its hard to believe but that is the extreme case of it.