• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Setae/enclosures

Ibnhamar

Hey all, newbie here. So in different husbandry videos I've watched, they'll say something like "and you can see all the hairs they've kicked there" and I don't know if I'm blind or what because I feel like I can never see the loose setae in the enclosure... does anyone have any pictures/examples of kicked hairs or hairs on molting mats? I feel like it can be tough distinguishing between any possible hairs and different loose fibers in substrate (I'm still just using coco at the moment, but I'm aware that people recommend others, depending) or in the mulch litter+spaghnum, but maybe that's just because my Ts are all slings, and one juvie.

Additionally, once you've rehoused a T, how do you go about cleaning that enclosure for future usage? I haven't seen this covered in most of the "intro to Ts" information out there. My common sense says "wear a mask, use gloves, replace all substrate of course, and either toss or thoroughly wash any decorations you intend to reuse", but still would be nice to hear from someone more experienced.

Oh, last thing. Cork bark for sling hides. Everything online I've seen looks way too massive for slings + their enclosures, and I've tried breaking apart smaller ones I've found at local pet stores, but they're overpriced and not that high quality. Additionally, one piece I had set up in an enclosure seemed to grow mold, and the enclosure had only been lightly misted in decreasing amounts as I layered substrate. Any recommendations?

I appreciate any advice!

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello and welcome. :)