• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Disappearing molt?

ChandraM

3 Year Member
Ok so yes I'm a newbie but as I understand it a t has to molt in order to grow, however all my slings have gotten bigger but I can't find the molts? What's going on do they hide them? I check on them often so what's the deal?

arachnofreak666

3 Year Member
they will even sometimes hide or burry their molt when they are done. if your trying to sex your T, then you may just have to wait for the next one. look for the signs of an upcoming molt and try to catch it as it happens so that you can get the molt out before they destroy it.

ChandraM

3 Year Member
Ohh ok sneaky little things I thought I was going crazy lol I try not to disturb them much they are usually burrowed down however I do believe my L. Parahybana sling is getting ready to molt.

MatthewM1

3 Year Member
T's don't eat molts. They may chew on them to suck out any remaining moisture but they don't actually eat them. They're most likely stuffed down in their burrows

Martin Oosthuysen

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
well then I suppose I'll have to wait till they get bigger so it's more than apparent that they have molted lol.
Haha,they can be pretty sneaky but that makes it loads of fun. I would go so far as to say,it's a defense or deterrent so that they are more hidden since no molt no evidence of a T and prey and predator won't know they are in the surrounding area.

arachnofreak666

3 Year Member
Well I can see there entire burrow and none there?