• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Wild Collectors

Lioth

3 Year Member
Do any of you breed wild scorpions, tarantulas, true spiders, and other inverts for pet trade? The idea I have is that I am trying to breed a certain scorp specie by getting a wild male and female. By the time they reproduce, perhaps some babies might get eaten. I shall free a few scorplings, and then keep some of them as pets and probably sell them too. I think that this way, their population should not be a problem.

AngelOtter

3 Year Member
I don't buy anything wild-caught, as a biologist I know what that does to wild populations, and it's not good. Wild populations of Ts, lizards, snakes, scorpions etc have been decimated by collection for the pet trade. Captive bred is the best option if you care about keeping the wild population safe.
Not trying to attack you or anything, it's just one of my pet peeves. Wild animals are great to look at or study, but they are wild, and should stay that way.

Lioth

3 Year Member