• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What do you do for a living.

Dave Jay

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I'm now on a disability pension, the osteoarthritis I've had since about 10 finally caught up with me but I'll list my 'trades' over the years.

After high school I qualified as an audio engineer and mixed for various bands before putting it on the back burner.
I then became a Fruit and Veg manager, both in supermarkets and private shops.
Then I studied horticulture and gained a cert 4 qualification in a couple of years rather than 4.
I worked in a couple of plant nurseries and had my own small gardening/landscaping business until my youngest daughter started primary school which I thought was my cue to go back to full time work.
I thought I'd better get my back seen to before going back to being a Fruit and Veg manager but after X rays showed that my disks were worn out and my back was bone grinding on bone the doctors wanted me to go on the disability pension.
Instead I studied small business management then opened a pet shop selling 'oddball' pets.
That went well for a couple of years (although my spine was bleeding internally) until a year of bungled road works meant that the only way to get to my shop was through the back roads even though it was on a major thoroughfare, by the time the road was opened properly I was in dire straights and applied for looking for work benefits, but I was deemed unfit for work and even unfit to study at collage so I had no choice but to accept the disability pension.
Now my idea is to buy stock from eBay and other sources and put together invert keeping kits to sell online.