• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Unusual behaviour

shaun

3 Year Member
My avic has gone down to the ground and sat there all day. I have seen him near the ground, on the cork bark for a couple of days, I thought maybe he was going down for a drink.
Just concerned, don't know if he is moulting or dead. He is not upside down but also isn't curled up. Maybe I need to wait and see but I am a concerned dad!

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I am no expert, but I believe the low to the ground position is their hunting position. So has he gone even lower & thus on to the substrate looking for food? I have heard of juvies being on the substrate for a few hours, but it's not normal behaviour, from what I know.

shaun

3 Year Member
I am no expert, but I believe the low to the ground position is their hunting position. So has he gone even lower & thus on to the substrate looking for food? I have heard of juvies being on the substrate for a few hours, but it's not normal behaviour, from what I know.
Interesting, I didn't know that. Hopefully he moults or makes a move. Do they sit for a long time before moulting?

ilovebrachys

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
How long has it been on the ground? Avics don't go to the ground to moult or feed they do that up in there enclosure - do you have plenty of cross ventilation and a water dish?

shaun

3 Year Member
Hope this is visible

Attachments

• 20200320_231322.jpg
    20200320_231322.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 31

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I lost an A. versacolor within a few weeks or receiving it a few years back. It was heartbreaking. Sorry for your loss :(

shaun

3 Year Member
Cheers, have now lost a couple of pink toes.