• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Tarantulas Got Smarts?

Stan Schultz

3 Year Member
The observation reported by m0lsx (Ping Pong Balls) attracted my attention because it raises so many questions. But rather than risking hijacking that thread I decided to start a new one. Mind you, what I present here is nothing new, just largely ignored. But I find this conjecture immensely fascinating.

1) I have seen virtually no evidence in wild, North American tarantulas of them moving things around the openings of their burrows. And mind you, I've had lots of experience with these creatures in the wild. If they did "rearrange the furniture" around their natural burrows, I would have recognized the fact by now. Thus, I can only draw the conclusion that the act of "playing" with ping pong balls is a completely unnatural phenomenon, not based on any obvious instinctual behavior. And therefore it's almost surely a LEARNED activity or response.

2) Several decades ago, when I was breeding Tliltocatl (Brachypelma) albopilosus (curlyhair tarantulas), I noticed an interesting behavior. Imagine this, if you will. I am seated on the carpet in a small bedroom with three-and-a-half walls covered with shelves of tarantulas, often more than 1300 counting the babies! On my left is a stack of cardboard trays of the type used for marketing 24 soda pop cans each. (BTW, I'm left handed. If you do this, you more probably would reverse my arrangement.) Each such tray holds 40, small, glass, baby food jars. And each jar contains one baby (3rd, 4th, or 5th instar, perhaps) tarantula. At arm's length in front of me sets a quart bottle of tap water with a plunger style pump, and a small Erlenmeyer flask holding perhaps fifty to 100 baby crickets. On my right is a stack of empty, cardboard, soda pop trays.