• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Strange markings on abdomen. Advice appreciated!

Lacey

Hello all!
I’m very new to the hobby. I will try my best to explain my request for help/advise so apologies for so much waffle! And thank you in advance for taking the time to read this essay!
Since my T.stirmi’s last moult ( 4 weeks ago) I noticed a darker patch with two lighter circles on the top of her abdomen. I’m guessing it’s part of her abdomen anatomy but I can’t find any information to confirm/correct my assumption.
I bought her as a sub adult 1.5 years ago, the seller claimed she was female. I believe she is around 4 years old but the seller couldn’t remember her age. I have a 40x40x40 exoterra, clayballs, soft mesh with a mixture of potting soil, cocofibre and peat moss for substrate at about 6-7 inches. I have live Epipremnum aureum, a water dish and a large piece of dried drift wood which forms her burrow. The enclosure has springtails as I’ve had minor mould problems in the past. The room temperature is kept around 19.5-20.5C. I spray down the substrate 4-5 times a week with water. I change her water every 5-7 days and tip it into the corner of her enclosure. I’m currently feeding her one medium/large gut loaded Dubia every 10-14 days.
Her behaviour seems normal. Spends most of her time in her burrow. Has the occasional stroll when she is due a Dubia. She’s always been a ferocious eater.
Any information would be greatly appreciated!
Lacey.
6C9A214F-68EF-4961-A844-7ABFE0F1A490.jpeg
F3C95036-A5C1-42E7-99DB-DDC4FA9EA18F.jpeg

ilovebrachys

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hi and welcome to the forum :)
To me it just looks like patches of uricating hairs and nothing to worry about...