• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Slings.

Liam

Im thinking of getting some slings because, well why not. However, ive heard they can be difficult and die easy. So do people usually get a couple of the same species to maximise the odds of getting one to adulthood or is it fine when you just get one and look after it properly?

Jess S

1,000+ Post Club
As a newbie myself I worried about getting slings, but I've found them pretty easy to care for. And you sort of grow as a keeper with them.

Obviously you need to make sure you get your enclosures and care right. One of the main reasons I believe that slings die is too much humidity and not enough ventilation. One thing you need to be mindful of is not making the ventilation holes too big, as it's amazing how little a hole they can squeeze through. A good rule of thumb is the hole needs to be smaller than the width of the slings prosoma. Smaller holes mean you need a lot more of them!

Some slings will die seemingly for no reason despite all the keepers best efforts, those ones sadly just aren't strong enough. However, with the right care the vast majority survive.

When keepers buy slings in pairs or 3's it is usually to increase their chances of having a female.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Personally, I usually only buy 1 of each species at a time although others prefer to but multiples. Yes, you can often lose a sling but that's just nature and the majority will give you pleasure watching them grow.

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
They are actually easier to keep than many think.

I try to get 3-5 of each species, unless there are others I want to get, then I'll get 1-2.