• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

PayPal Fees

Who do you think should be responsible for the PayPal fees during a transaction?

• Vendor should be responsible.

Votes: 8 66.7%
  • Customer should be responsible.

Votes: 2 16.7%
  • I don't care.

Votes: 2 16.7%

• Total voters

Mr. P

3 Year Member
I personally despise vendors who pawn THEIR fees off on the customer, I will never do business with them.
What is your opinion.

sdsnybny

3 Year Member
I am a hobbyist/breeder that is technically handicapped and live off my SSD. So I politely request to get paid via family/friends option or if the customer isnt comfortable with that add the 3% fees. I always give references and I have many all great no negative reviews. There is a difference between "Vendors" with a business license and us hobbyists sharing our success with others.

Metalman2004

3 Year Member
I think if the fee were called what it really is, an insurance policy, some might change their mind. If you want to pay “friends and family” that’s fine but there are no extra protections. If you prefer, pay the 3% for the insurance policy against things going wrong. Every other insurance policy is paid for by the buyer so same goes here in my opinion.

That being said, when it’s person to person anything is negotiable. Before I had any reviews I covered half the fee for buyers. These days I say do friends and family (and check out my reviews) or add the 3%.

Mr. P

3 Year Member
I think if the fee were called what it really is, an insurance policy, some might change their mind.

I disagree, If that were the case then Paypal would charge the buyer and not the seller. If you used a credit at Walmart would you expect them to add the 3% on to the purchase? This has already been through the courts and denied.