• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to the Hobby

Taraspatula

Hi everyone on Tarantula Forum, please to meet y'all!

As the title says I am very new to the hobby but I have always had a fascination with tarantulas. While others, like my girl friend who is arachnophobic, feared these little guys I wanted to handle them. When I say my girlfriend is arachnophobic I am not over exaggerating, she once ran out of a room frantically making me think a mass murderer was chasing her but it was just because of a baby spider the size of a dot crawled next to her. I finally loosened her up and convinced her to get me a sling last Sunday (May 4th, 2019). I told her she should conquer her fears by helping me raise one from a sling, maybe you'll grow to like him/her. Little did she or I know we were getting one of the more intermediate level tarantula.

We ended up getting a Pterinochilus murinus also know as Orange Baboon tarantula in a local pet shop. I fell in love with the color of a mature adult after googling an image of an "OBT" not knowing the dangers. We further did more research and are up to the challenge. He is currently about an 1" living in a cylinder plastic bottle filled up to 70% cocofiber substrate with top air flow and cross air flow. Also I use a heating mat that I turn on and off to simulate heat/cold but normal temp is usaually room temperature (Lowest 60 degreees - highest 75 degrees). I just feed him pinhead crickets.

If you guys have any advice for someone new please do not be afraid to share them or personally send me a message! P.S. I felt bad for Obi being alone so four days later i bought a Grammostola pulchra sling but he/she is a lot more bigger about 2" but that'll be a different story to tell.

Here's Obi
ADZCK4k.jpg

Enclosure
ZFXzz5u.jpg

Taraspatula