• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My LP sling is missing a leg :(

Jes

Hi guys, when I woke up this morning, I noticed that my LP sling(around 1.5") is missing 1 front leg. I am new to the hobby and I don't know why or how that happened and I cannot find her leg :(.. She is currently in her temporary enclosure(pics below) and I plan to move her to a bigger acrylic enclosure after her next molt. I have read somewhere that the leg will eventually grow back but I want to know what you guys think I should do differently to prevent this from happening again when I move her to her new enclosure. Should I reduce the size of the vent holes(currently 3mm)? Or maybe I should remove the moss? Those are the things I can think of where she could have had her leg stuck. Is it normal for slings to just suddenly lose a leg? Thanks in advance!

IMG_20201005_125915.jpg
IMG_20201005_125412.jpg
IMG_20201005_125134.jpg
IMG_20201005_125127.jpg

Volkswachter

One of my M. balfouri males has a missing leg too; they do grow back. It takes 2 molts for a tarantula to completely regrow a lost limb but it will grow back. As long as your sling can still walk, it'll be fine.

T-Baby

3 Year Member
Tarantulas are very good at recognizing when something on their body isn’t right and dropping a limb or two, this may be the case for your one.
A small sling of mine was missing a leg, it moulted yesterday and has a new one although slightly smaller then the rest. Tarantulas can actually cope very well with several legs missing, you eventually won’t even notice :)
You don’t need to change anything.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I brought 4 B grade gimps from The Spider Shop in July last year. All were missing a leg & all regrew the leg the next molt.