• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My First DIY Acrylic Tarantula Enclosure

Alfonso Faustino

Hi, all.

I am new to this activity; and, recently, as of 18-December-2019, @ 1307 Hours PST, I purchased my first tarantula: Brachypelma Hamorii: spiderling: DLS 1.75" with slight bend to both legs: ~2-2.5 years old.

I spent ~4 months researching tarantulas; and, once I committed to purchasing one, I began the design, engineering, build, and landscape for a male juvenile Brachypelma Hamorii.

Many thanks to Petko: The Dark Den.

My enclosure:
- 14" sq. (14" x 14" x 14")
- secured with velcro fasteners
- substrate is 50% coco fibre and 50% organic unfertilized nor chemically treated potting soil
- Sphagnum Moss is used as garnishes and distilled water stations
- substrate is ~7" deep
- 10" cork-bark-tunnel: rear submerged into the substrate (The angle-of-attack fo the 10" cork-bark tunnel is ~45 dedgree-pitch from the floor of the enclosure.)
- cork-bark wall: hot-glued to the back panel of the enclosure added for visual appeal, as well as a climbing wall in case Arogog wants the work-out -- his fall is cushioned my the substrate
- ventilation: cross and circulation
- front-panel door (I don't like coming down from above on Arogog -- I learned this from my green iguanas and Australian Bearded Dragons.)

Ha -- I put a lot of build-time, travel-time, landscaping into this enclosure...only to find out my purchase was going to be a male Brachypelm Hamorri spiderling -- not the >= 2.5" DLS male juvenile Brachypelma Hamorii, for whom, I designed, landscaped, and built the enclosure.

So, I built Arogog a smaller enclosure made of plastic. It's a container I purchased for 97-cents at Diaso. It a common container used to store sugar, cinnamon sticks -- you get the idea.