• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My cyaneopubescens chromatopelma mature male will not mate

Lukerobbo

Hello all

I'm new to this so sorry if I made some mistakes on post.

Anyway I am currently pairing my chromatopelma cyaneopubescens together, amazingly my female is being soo placid however, my male is acting strange he has made a sperm web multiple times, the humidity and all that is correct and hes looking for a female to pair with. Now when hes has wandered into the females house (without any human interaction) he goes through his routine and then starts drumming, they both communicate with each other which lasts for around 3 hours and then the male will make his move towards her they start to touch until he panics and bolts away, I've paired them 9 times now and the closest the male has gotten is when he went underneath her for a second or 2 and then bolted, he didn't even begin transferring sperm just went under then got off.

Could there be something wrong with the male? Hes definitely a good size for her and I've witnessed way smaller than him successfully pair and the female is around 11 years old fully grown I reckon, she molted 4 months ago and the molt before that was 3 and a bit years ago and this will be her first pairing ( when the Male straps on a pair that is)

Anyone else having this issue or knows about this? Cheers.

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Alrighty then cheers for the advice ile keep at it and let u know and yh I only give them a spray so they have a drink as GBB do they just web over the bowl and annoys me having to ruin their lovely home to clean it and re fill anyway thanks again.
Pro tip: a second water dish lol

Phil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hello all