• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My Brachypelma Smithi (mexican red knee) hasn't molted in months.

Kohle

Hey guys I'm new to the tarantula hobby. And I'll go ahead and say it when I bought it from the pet store the sign said Brachypelma Smithi but it might be a Hamorii I don't really know the difference of them. I've tired looking them up but alot of dead ends and some say there the same thing. So I'm sorry if I got the name wrong I would love to learn and know more about the subject. But anyways I bought the T Feb 15 2020 it molted the 1st night I bought it home, but it hasn't molted since. And it's June 10 2020. I'm starting to worry because I read that they molt alot when there young. Temp is 64-70 degrees and humidity stays between 60-70. It only eats about a meal worm or cricket about 2 to 3 weeks I try to feed it every week. But i leave it in for a day if it doesnt eat it i take it out. I cut the meal worms in half cuz they where bigger. Again because they said not to leave it in there cuz it will stress the T out. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong. Or if it's normal. But I'm stressing out because I love him/her(haven't figured out the gender yet) and I don't want it to be unhealthy.
20200215_193242.jpg
This was the 1st day I got my T
20200227_061113.jpg
this is the T now.
20200610_061508.jpg
it's a exo terra terrarium, cork bark hide that I buried in at a angle, coco fiber with zoo med terrarium moss. And that water bowl.
And I don't handle the T since it's so small I'm afraid I might hurt it. And it's never gave me a treat pose or acted aggressively in anyway. Thats all the info I know to give you guys. Any info would be much appreciated and thank you for even taking the time to read this.

ilovebrachys

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member