• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Little Digger! G. Rosea (allegedly)

ASherpa

Hey everyone! This will be my first post. Please don't roast me, I can't handle the heat.

I am new to the hobby, got my first C. Versicolor around the beginning of last month. Since then, I have picked up a few others... one of which is a G. rosea (I think. was unlabeled and inexpensive... don't hate). This lil one is probably my largest, at about 1.75" give or take. This little one came home in an empty deli cup so I housed her (hopefully) in an enclosure I made. Its a 4x4x5 AMAC box with some pretty deep substrate (coco fiber and soil given to me by a local keeper), small water dish, tp tube (temporary) hide half buried with a depression under it as a starter burrow, and some fake aquarium plants for pizzaz. I put a bunch of substrate in there to fill the space so she wouldn't fall far if she decided to mess around.

It didn't occur to me to take a photo of the enclosure after I finished, as I had no clue what was in store. She started digging last night.
20201103_110327.jpg
I came in this morning to find she had made her home, into her own space. She has dug down to the bottom in one corner. She is stacking dirt balls all the way to the ceiling in two corners. The walls of the hole are nearly vertical now, and the hole is quite large around. I had no clue how busy these creatures can be! I also didn't realize they would dig to such an extent. I am glad to have been able to provide her with all the substrate, but I am a little worried about how steep this is.