• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Is vermiculite safe?

Tfghvghxhjj

3 Year Member
Hi all,

I've been keeping tarantulas for a few years and recently changed my choice of substrate due to the shop I get it from no longer stocking what I used to get. I use pro-rep eco earth now and have realised it has a very small amount of what seems to be vermiculite mixed in. Many people on the forums refuse to use it whatsoever over safety concerns. It is safe? What're the reasons for believing it's unsafe?

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I've been using a blend of coco fiber and vermiculite for over 20 years. Never had a single problem. Vermiculite is safe as long as it has moisture. If you use it wet it is fine. If you use it dry it will wick the moisture out of everything...including a spider. People have a problem with it because they don't understand how it works. Of course you would use way less for a arid species but for a moisture dependent tarantula you would use alot more. It slowly releases moisture Into the soil which allows you to have to maintain the soil less then straight coco fiber. It doesnt mold either and it aerates the soil...win, win.

Last edited:

Tfghvghxhjj

3 Year Member