• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help! sling is not eating

Amooba

So I have recently purchased two G. pulchra slings and they arrived one week ago. I have never owned tarantulas before so I am new to this. Anyways, one of them has already eaten two mealworms but one of my slings just won't eat. Does it still need time to adjust to the new environment. I really need help and hope that there is nothing wrong with my sling.

GarField000

3 Year Member
There could be several reasons why it's not eating.
Adjust to new enclosrue, of going into a molt, the food is alive (not sure how small they are?) ...
Just try and feed it once a week. You can pre-kill a cricket at leave at in so she kind eat while you are not watching :D

My B.boemei didn't eat live food until 2 molts further.

Amooba

There could be several reasons why it's not eating.
Adjust to new enclosrue, of going into a molt, the food is alive (not sure how small they are?) ...
Just try and feed it once a week. You can pre-kill a cricket at leave at in so she kind eat while you are not watching :D

My B.boemei didn't eat live food until 2 molts further.
Alright, Thanks for your help. My sling that is not eating is also a lot darker than my other sling that does eat. Might this be a sign that it is in premolt?

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Personally I have no idea if some of my slings eat or not. Being small most could have a massive feed on a mealworm & I would never know. They get a beheaded mealworm every 3rd day. That is, I put a mealworm in, leave it 24 hours, remove it & the replace with a fresh mealworm 24 hours later.