• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello everyone!!

pilgrim

3 Year Member
I'm new to this hobby - so new in fact, that I haven't even chosen my first tarantula yet!

I live in the US in upstate South Carolina, and have had a passion for critters big and small my entire life. I recently sold all of my ball pythons because their care was becoming too much for me to handle - I have severe anxiety and bouts of depression, so it makes it difficult to take care of pets that require a ton of maintenance right now (I do not miss having to clean those poops, I tell ya what). Hopefully one day I'll be healthy enough to have more in my life again. But until that time comes, I've decided to dive into one of the pets I've always been curious about but never had: a tarantula!

I welcome any and all suggestions on what I might want to consider. I've been researching for some time now (bless youtube), and I think I'm leaning towards a Brachypelma of some kind.

I'm also curious to find out how difficult it is to maintain more than one T at a time - I can easily see myself being tempted to owning more than one, as I'm a collector at heart, but I don't want to fall into the same problem I had before with my ball pythons.

Balfouriboi

3 Year Member