• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Greetings

callen727

hello.
I am brand new to tarantulas, in fact I haven’t even obtained one as of yet, still in the research phase. I am leaning towards a Gooty Ornimental (sorry, I haven’t learned the technical names yet, but I plan to) I know this is a fast T with a nasty bite, but I don’t plan to handle.
I’m interested in building an enclosure myself.
While I’m new to tarantulas, I do currently have Hissing ****roaches, geckos, a beardie, and 4 snakes including a Reticulated Python. So I’m no stranger to animals that deserve and require respect. Also I’m used to animals that require specific housing with specific temp/humidity needs.
So, I plan on spending a lot of time on this forum. Forums such as this has always been my starting point when learning about new animals.
Any and all input, guidance, suggestions, warnings, etc. will be greatly appreciated! I look forward to getting to know you all better and I’m excited to be a contributing part of this community soon!

-C.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi Callen and welcome.
Poecilotheria metallica (Gooty) is probable one of the calmest Pokies and a beautiful T. The respect you've learned keeping snakes will set you in good stead for keeping a T.

Phil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
hello and welcome to the forum. there is a poechletheria thread on the forum so this will be much more informative than so called "care sheets". The best advice comes from those who look after them directly and you will find lots of us on this site that will be happy to share our experience.
I have a small colony of Poechletheria Metallica (Gooty ornamental).