• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Grammostola Pulchra, is this normal?

benihime

3 Year Member
Hello everyone. This g. pulchra girl right here is my first tarantula and since I'm new in the hobby I don't know that well about them. She's very calm and never kicked hair before. But I see some changes on her abdomen. It's like she lost her long black hairs and she has lightly colored short hairs left there. Is this normal? Or is there an issue? I'm gonna add new photos of her and an old one so you can see the issue better. Thank you
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-03 at 16.50.04.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-03 at 16.50.05.jpeg
Screen Shot 2018-01-03 at 16.53.18.png

LGTARANTULAS

3 Year Member
What is the urt patch? Also the substrate I use is coconut husk chips. Not regular woodchips.
Just don't worry about it. As Enn49 said, she's approaching premolt which is why she is losing her jet black colouration. Happens with all tarantulas. The patch is due to balding which can be a caused as I've heard due to power feeding or maybe stress. I'm not too sure, either way. Don't worry :D

Oh and yeah, change that substrate. It's hideous and possibly dangerous. As you know, the tarantulas abdomen is fragile. If it drops down on one of those sharp ends of the chips while climbing then R.I.P. Plus it can't borrow and change her home around the way she likes it. Good luck friend.

benihime

3 Year Member
Just don't worry about it. As Enn49 said, she's approaching premolt which is why she is losing her jet black colouration. Happens with all tarantulas. The patch is due to balding which can be a caused as I've heard due to power feeding or maybe stress. I'm not too sure, either way. Don't worry :D