• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

dubias for 1" C. Versicolor?

Basilisk

So I'm a total noob to spiders! There's a place near me that has a couple 1" C. Versicolor, but I'm not really sure what size prey I'll need. I have a breeding colony of Dubias for my reptiles, will the smallest size work for a juvenile?

I can feed wax worms or something, but it would be cool if I could just use what I already have.

Mr. P

3 Year Member
General rule is half the size of the T.
I have a dubia colony as well and my smaller slings won't eat dubia as they don't move enough. My bigger T's will scarf them as soon as I drop them in but my slings are more shy and don't pay them much attention. If they aren't taken as soon as they are dropped in then by the time the T is interested the dubia have buried themselves and can't be found.
Maybe if you crush the dubia head then the T will get to them later.

Basilisk

General rule is half the size of the T.
I have a dubia colony as well and my smaller slings won't eat dubia as they don't move enough. My bigger T's will scarf them as soon as I drop them in but my slings are more shy and don't pay them much attention. If they aren't taken as soon as they are dropped in then by the time the T is interested the dubia have buried themselves and can't be found.
Maybe if you crush the dubia head then the T will get to them later.

Okay, good to know! I can pick up some crickets or something instead.

Edit: and thank you for the advice!

Last edited:

Mr. P

3 Year Member
Do you have access to some small red runners? Those things never stop running around.

Tortoise Tom

1,000+ Post Club