• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Dubia Roaches?

Sarah Joy

3 Year Member
I was contacted by someone who said that feeding my spiders crickets was insufficient for their nutritional needs. That is what I was told to feed them since I got them. This "concerned T owner" also said that dubia roaches were the only thing they should eat and that I should consider selling my Ts to somone who knows better. Nobody in an almost 3 hour radius even sells them! So as a newer T hobbyist, I am starting to wonder... to dubia or not to dubia?

Nada

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Dubia, are better. Yes. But whoever told yo that Dubia is all they should eat was either just being a jerk, or was a complete snob. Crickets are fine, the only problem is that they can bite, so they need to be removed if not eaten within a day.

Sarah Joy

3 Year Member
Thank you. I have never had a cricket last through the day. I feed towards night because the cobalt comes out sooner to eat that way. So if I end up getting dubias, should I grow a colony myself? Is that normal?

Sarah Joy

3 Year Member
How? Do I just look it up on (ick) google? I am all for quiet and odorless. Will the Ts just switch from crickets to roaches? You in the last week have become the tarantula god to me. Thanks.

Nada

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
How? Do I just look it up on (ick) google? I am all for quiet and odorless. Will the Ts just switch from crickets to roaches? You in the last week have become the tarantula god to me. Thanks.

Try roachcafe.com They sell a starter kit and have a pretty nice care sheet.
And yes, most Ts will have no problem switching.

Sarah Joy

3 Year Member