• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Disappeared

Earlgrey 0

Hi. My mum brought me a grammastola pulcha for my birthday,last week first ever tarantula. It is 5/6 cm and beautiful. It took 4 days to deliver,parcel force took there sweet timeI finally received monday 7th June.. got everything ready,tank perfect,hide,water, substrate deep enough to burrow. It was out 4 days exploring tank, went to feed last night and gone,I can see where its burrowed. I've been so worried that it now has been 8 days since last ate in total,coz 4 days in delivery..Will it be OK as I'm a newbie. Thanks

Mygalomorphic

Don’t be worried! If the entrance to the burrow is sealed with substrate or webbing then your T is most likely molting. I have a few who will disappear for MONTHS, then one day they come out bigger and brighter with an appetite.

If the entrance is open then likely it’s coming out at night when you aren’t watching. Many species will burrow when they are small but will be out more when they get bigger. You can put prey items in the enclosure and see if they are gone when you wake up. If not, remove them and wait a few days to offer again. If the burrow is sealed off then don’t offer prey and just keep water available.

8 days is not too long to go off feed for a T so don’t be concerned. Try to resist the urge to dig it up, you could disturb it while molting or more likely you’ll find a spider who is upset that it got dug up. They are much more self efficient than most other pets we are used to.

Welcome to the hobby! Don’t be afraid to ask questions but also search the forums because many people ask the same questions.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member