• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Avic staying at bottom of cage

Freddy_T

3 Year Member
Hi guys.. I have a quick question.. I have a juvenile pink toe and for days now she/he hasn't been climbing at all that I've seen. It does climb on the decorations in the cage but not to the top. When I first got him/her it was always at the top. Now it's always at the bottom.. Even under a log that's in the cage. I didn't expect this from an arboreal tarantula.. But I am very new at this. Could something be wrong?

ALD

3 Year Member
Hmmm you have only had her a few days? Could be distressing and getting used to the enclosure. Perhaps someone else would have more insight. That is my thought though.

Dustin Amack

3 Year Member
An Avic on the ground doesn't sit well with me...a picture of your enclousure would be nice.
I have been researching my Avics and brushing up on my avic game. I have been worried from time to time as well for the same reason. My adult A. metallca hase never made the slightest web in the 6 months I've had her, however she stays on her cork slab and/or sides of the extra large critter keeper. I've been reading on humidity - which I just stick with a topped off large water bowl as well and heat,I'm at (75-80 degrees). I have good air flow, so I'm not sure why she chooses to do this. Thoughts? If I can't get her acting better, maybe i'll send her your way... :)

Last edited:

MassExodus

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member