• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

any guitar players here?

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Last year during lockdown I started learning the guitar and it has been going smoothly in case anyone is curious. I started with an Ibanez 12 string and now have a travel size 6 string Tanara (a cheap off brand that looks like a Gibson), which sounds decent compared to some name brand guitars of equal or greater size.

I am eventually going to add a strat, nylon string, a bass, and a bajo sexto or quinto.

what type of guitar, tuner, pick, and strings do you prefer? What is your preferred genre to play?

plessey

3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I've played bass for years, mostly gravitating towards 6 string bass. I mess about with electric guitars as well but I certainly wouldn't consider myself a guitar player. I mostly play metal and rock but also quite partial to a bit of funk and whatever crappy tunes I make up myself.

My 2 main basses are the Ibanez BTB 1606-NTF (bottom) and Modulus Q6 fretless semi-hollow body (top).

The guitar I tend to play the most is this Vintage V100 Reissue

For strings I always use Elixir for both bass and guitar, Nanoweb medium gauge for bass and Optiweb light gauge for guitar. They are pretty expensive but stay bright for ages.

I discovered Jim Dunlop Petrucci Jazz III picks about 5 years ago and that is all I have used since. Really good for tremelo picking

rapidfire

Been playing for 20 years! Metal/shred

Attachments

• 5190AC24-DF54-4DBD-A97A-CD0350414F7E.jpeg
    5190AC24-DF54-4DBD-A97A-CD0350414F7E.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 18

prince charmless