• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A random Amazon purchase/enclosure experiment

Cor

Tarantula Club Member
First off, a warning: these pictures are most likely not OCD friendly. I did a little rush job/half-a**ed drill job on this thing, so the holes are neither straight, evenly spaced, or super clean looking. Also, one side has less holes than the other side. Also, one of the fake plants keeps falling down. Also, I'm lazy a nd didn't feel like taking a little extra time to get it done better. Besides, this is a test. Maybe the next one will be better.

With that out of the way, on to the goods.

I'm new to this whole hobby thing, so I spend a lot of time on various shopping venues looking for enclosures that are either purpose built, or close enough to do the job with a little work. I've got a hand full of various clear containers ready to be drilled and filled for my growing family. While browsing Amazon, I came across this:
71qi9C9s0UL._SX679_.jpg

With the little remaining elementary school imagination that I had left, I bought it with big goals. A little bit of tedious drilling later and some removal of the plastic bits and bobs, I've come up with this:
wUTJ7Vc.jpg

7c7rYBW.jpg

Problem one (aside from the bad drilling): the lower drawer is broken and the hinge is missing the little metal rod that holds one side in place. However, the drawer isn't necessary for me, and I can cut a wire hanger to the right size and fix the hinge situation.

Problem two: It's larger than I was expecting. I looked at the dimensions beforehand, but for some reason I thought it would be smaller.