• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Enclosure sizes

Calico

3 Year Member
Looking at all the pictures of T's and enclosures on here, it seems a lot of them are in small enclosures. Since I am new to this I really don't know what is acceptable and what should be avoided. My a.chalcodes, which is about 1 1/2" body, is in a 5 gal tank with 3" Eco Earth, a log hide and water dish. He has decided to make his burrow under the water dish and seems to stay there most of the time. He is, however, very active at night.

I am looking at possibly getting another T (not soon, but in the future) but don't have the room to have 5 gal tanks all over! But don't want to get something too small.

I must confess, in doing research on this, I came upon a board that was discussing this same question. It must be the board that people are talking about as being rude to people's questions, as this poor guy got reamed! I'm glad you guys are here and don't think any question, no matter how trivial, is stupid. Glad I found you first :)

WolfSpider

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Calico,

Agree with Ennie. (You can pretty much publish her posts...all of them are pearls). I would think If your T is confident (explores at night, takes prey easy, and does eco-earth excavation) your tank is fine for him. Hiding under water dishes seems to be an A. Calcodes thing.....mine does it too. Good luck with your next acquisition!!!!

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi! I know nothing about gal (the size, not the slang "girl"!) being from Switzerland. Sorry!

But if you can give some inches/cm mesures, I could maybe help.

That being said, I agree with @Enn49 and @WolfSpider.